INFORMATION: THE DRAWING IS SOLD WITHOUT... - Lot 1 - Kâ-Mondo

Lot 1
Go to lot
Estimation :
200000 - 300000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 240 000EUR
INFORMATION: THE DRAWING IS SOLD WITHOUT... - Lot 1 - Kâ-Mondo

INFORMATION: THE DRAWING IS SOLD WITHOUT THE EXHIBITION FRAME ///Peter Paul RUBENS (Siegen 1577 - Antwerp 1640).

Project for a vignette for the Opticorum Libri Sex by Franciscus Aguilon: a scientist in Atlas carrying an armillary sphere to study the projection of shadows, ca. 1613.

Pen and brown ink, brown ink wash and white gouache highlights, penciled

9.5 × 14.3 cm.

Glued in full on an 18th-century mount.

Bibliography:


J.Richard Judson and C. van de Velde, Corpus Rubenianum Ludwig Burchard, Part XXI, Book illustrations and title-pages, volume I, no. 16 and 16a, pp.114-115, volume II, engraving reproduced figure 68, drawing cited as lost.


Related works:


Engraved in reverse in 1613 for Franciscus Aguilon's Book VI, Opticorum Libri Sex, published in Antwerp. Two other drawings by Rubens for the series of engravings illustrating the book are in the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C., while the frontispiece design is in the British Museum in London.


A painting by Rubens of Philosophers measuring the projection of a planisphere (see M. Jaffé, Rubens and optics: some fresh evidence, Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes, no. 34 (1971), pp.362-366, repr.60a.


Architect, physicist, theologian, mathematician, Father Franciscus Agulonius or François d'Aguilon (Brussels 1566 - Antwerp 1617) was at the forefront of research in the field of optics and had a great influence on the physicists of his time. Of Spanish father, he studied at the Jesuit college of Douai and entered the order in 1582. He was a professor of philosophy in Douai and then joined the professed house in Antwerp in 1598. He climbed the ladder to become rector in 1608. Much admired for his knowledge of mathematics, he was asked to draw up plans for the construction of churches in Mons and then in Tournai, before taking charge of the great construction site of Saint Charles Borromeo in Antwerp in 1613. At the same time, the publication of his book Opticorum Libri Sex in 1613 was an event in scholarly circles. Unfortunately only the first volume was published during his lifetime. The 684-page text, divided into six parts, is a compendium of knowledge on optics, light and sight. He was the first to develop the notion of stereographic projection. He applies scientific optical laws to art and techniques. Rubens was paid by the Plantin Press in 1613 to execute the frontispiece and six vignettes in the titles of the books.


Aguilon was a close friend of Rubens. He drew the first plans for the great baroque church of St. Charles Borromeo in Antwerp, which was eventually built by Peter Huyssens and decorated entirely by Rubens. Rubens painted the two gigantic Miracles of St. Ignatius of Loyola and St. Francis Xavier (Vienna, Kunsthistorisches Museum) before developing a cycle of 39 paintings in the adjacent galleries. In 1718, a fire destroyed the church, sparing only the façade. The collaboration between Aguilon and Rubens was thus a fruitful combination of their respective talents, and it is certain that Rubens must have discussed at length with Aguilon the representations envisaged for his book. Rubens was well versed in optical research and was himself planning to publish a book on his observations in optics, symmetry, proportions, anatomy and architecture, the manuscript of which burned in the fire at the Boulle workshop in the Louvre in 1720. We also know that Pompeo Leoni showed Rubens some of Leonardo's manuscripts in his possession. Roger de Piles reports Rubens' admiration for the research of Vinci, who worked particularly on optics, whether in his draft Trattato della Pittura or in manuscript C. The optical principles Rubens develops are particularly close to Leonardo's observations (see Juliana Barone, "Rubens and Leonardo on Motion: Figures, Inscriptions, and Texts", in Re-Reading Leonardo, 2009, ed. C.Farago, pp.441-472).


Our unpublished drawing fortunately complements the survivors of the series, the draft frontispiece in the British Museum and the two compositions now in the National Gallery in Washington. The frontispiece uses the classical allegorical language of mythological personifications. Rubens' six engravings illustrate the titles of the six parts of the book. They depict a scientist conducting experiments with a team of putti "assistants." Rubens drew inspiration from his master Otto Venius, who had published his Emblemata amorum in 1608, by populating it with putti. The experiments show children practising scientific manipulations under the authority of a scientist.


The first, which traces the properties of the eye, shows the dissection of a

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

INFORMATION : LE DESSIN EST VENDU SANS LE... - Lot 1 - Kâ-Mondo

Lot 1
Aller au lot
Estimation :
200000 - 300000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 240 000EUR
INFORMATION : LE DESSIN EST VENDU SANS LE... - Lot 1 - Kâ-Mondo

INFORMATION : LE DESSIN EST VENDU SANS LE CADRE DE PRÉSENTATION D'EXPOSITION ///Peter Paul RUBENS (Siegen 1577 – Anvers 1640).

Projet de vignette pour l’Opticorum Libri Sex de Franciscus Aguilon : un scientifique en Atlas portant une sphère armillaire pour en étudier la projection des ombres, vers 1613.

Plume et encre brune, lavis d’encre brune et rehauts de gouache blanche, passé au stylet.

9,5 × 14,3 cm.

Collé en plein sur un montage du XVIIIe siècle.

Bibliographie:


J.Richard Judson et C. van de Velde, Corpus Rubenianum Ludwig Burchard, Part XXI, Book illustrations and title-pages, volume I, n°16 et 16a, pp.114-115, volume II, gravure reproduite figure 68, dessin cité comme perdu.


OEuvres en rapport:


Gravé en sens inverse en 1613 pour le Livre VI de Franciscus Aguilon, Opticorum Libri Sex, publié à Anvers. Deux autres dessins de Rubens pour la série de gravures illustrant le livre sont conservés à la National Gallery of Art de Washington, le projet du frontispice étant lui conservé au British Museum à Londres.


Un tableau par Rubens représentant Des philosophes mesurant la projection d'un planisphère (voir M. Jaffé, Rubens and optics: some fresh evidence, Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes, n°34 (1971), pp.362-366, repr.60a.


Architecte, physicien, théologien, mathématicien, le père Franciscus Agulonius ou François d'Aguilon (Bruxelles 1566 Anvers 1617) était à la pointe des recherches dans le domaine de l'optique et eut une grande influence sur les physiciens de son temps. De père espagnol, il étudia au collège jésuite de Douai et entra dans l'ordre en 1582. Il fut professeur de philosophie à Douai puis intégra la maison professe d'Anvers en 1598. Il grimpa les échelons pour devenir recteur en 1608. Très admiré pour ses connaissances en mathématique, il fut requis pour donner des plans de construction d'église à Mons puis à Tournai, avant de prendre en main le grand chantier de Saint Charles Borromée d'Anvers en 1613. Concomitamment, la publication de son livre Opticorum Libri Sex en 1613 est un événement dans les milieux savants. Malheureusement seul le premier volume est publié de son vivant. Le texte de 684 pages, divisé en six parties, est un condensé des connaissances en optique, sur la lumière et la vue. Il est le premier à développer la notion de projection stéréographique. Il applique les lois optiques scientifiques à l'art et aux techniques. Rubens est payé par les Presses Plantin en 1613 pour l'exécution du frontispice et de six vignettes en titres des livres.


Aguilon était un ami proche de Rubens. Il dessina les premiers projets pour la grande église baroque de Saint-Charles-Borromée d'Anvers, qui fut construite finalement par Pierre Huyssens et entièrement décorée par Rubens. Rubens y peignit les deux gigantesques Miracles de saint Ignace de Loyola et de saint François Xavier (Vienne, Kunsthistorisches Museum) avant de développer un cycle de 39 peintures dans les galeries adjacentes. En 1718, un incendie détruisit l'église, n'épargnant que la façade. La collaboration entre Aguilon et Rubens était donc une fructueuse association de leurs talents respectifs, et il est certain que Rubens dût longuement discuter avec Aguilon des représentations envisagées pour son livre. Rubens était très au fait des recherches en optique et se proposait lui-même de publier un livre sur ses observations en optique, symétrie, proportions, anatomie, architecture, dont le manuscrit brûla dans l'incendie de l'atelier Boulle au Louvre en 1720. On sait aussi que Pompeo Leoni montra à Rubens des manuscrits de Léonard en sa possession. Roger de Piles rapporte l'admiration de Rubens pour les recherches de Vinci, qui travailla particulièrement sur l'optique, que ce soit dans son projet de Trattato della Pittura ou dans le manuscrit C. Les principes optiques que Rubens développe sont particulièrement proches des observations de Léonard (voir Juliana Barone, «Rubens and Leonardo on Motion: Figures, Inscriptions, and Texts», in Re-Reading Leonardo, 2009, ed. C.Farago, pp.441-472).


Notre dessin, inédit, vient heureusement compléter les rescapés de la série, le projet du frontispice conservé au British Museum et les deux compositions maintenant réunies à la National Gallery de Washington. Le frontispice utilise le langage allégorique classique des personnifications mythologiques. Les six gravures de Rubens illustrent les titres des six parties du livre. Ils mettent en scène un savant dirigeant des expériences avec une équipe de putti «assistants». Rubens s'inspire de son maître Otto Venius qui avait publié ses Emblemata amorum en 1608 en les peuplant de putti. Les expériences montrent les enfants s'exerçant aux manipulations scientifiques sous l'autorité d'un savant.


La première, qui retrace les propriétés de l'oeil, montre la dissection d'u

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue